Bundaberg Australian Root Beer

Bottle and Label: Stubby brown bottle with orange label and a kangaroo that attests to the origins of this brew to the land down under

Ingredients: Filtered Carbonated Water, cane sugar, root beer brew (water, sugar, molasses, ginger root, sarsaparilla root, licorice root, vanilla bean, yeast), caramel color, citric acid, preservatives (potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate), antioxidant (ascorbic acid), root beer flavor

Smell: Very strong medicinal smell from the bottle. Very much like cough syrup. When poured the medicinal smell persists and also a strong wintergreen smell.

Carbonation: I tried really hard to notice the carbonation but it was really difficult because the flavor completely overwhelmed my mouth. I’d say this has a low level of carbonation with just a bit of bite.

Color: Dark brown, almost black

Head: A nice foamy head that is tall and long lasting. It nearly went over the top of my frosty mug when I poured it and it lasted for a good minute or so before dissipating down to the level of the root beer.

Flavor: Remember that cough syrup smell? Yeah, that’s also what it tastes like. Cough syrup is the only way to describe it.

Conclusion: Do you like the flavor of cough syrup? Do you drink cough syrup with your meals? Then go out and buy this root beer right now. If you think cough syrup is a disgusting invention of Satan then avoid this root beer like the plague. I’m not usually this harsh but this root beer is terrible. My wife, who often has different tastes in root been than myself, also agrees.

RBR’s Grade- F

15 thoughts on “Bundaberg Australian Root Beer

  1. all natural drink, not like most of the crap full of chemicals your other so called tasty modern rubbish.I wonder what you guys drink,err tizer ?

    • I love a good “all natural” root beer. The key word being “good.” That’s the great thing about root beer though. There is literally something for everyone!

  2. its the only root beer with sarsaparilla…. which is supposed to be an ingrediant of REAL root beer…. everything else is an imposter…. including A&W, Virgil, IBC…. etc etc…

    • Agreed that sarsaparilla was once an integral ingredient in root beer. That hasn’t been the case for quite some time. I don’t really care what the ingredients are. I care how it tastes to me. This one did not taste good hence the low score.

  3. I’m pretty sure the folks at Bundaberg just label this “Root Beer” for its exports. It’s known as Sarsparilla down under. Like Vegemite, it’s not for everyone and you’re much more likely to have a taste for it if you’ve grown up with it. Bundaberg’s ginger beer is amazing and worth a try, even if their sars wasn’t for you.

  4. Unbelievably bad. I can’t believe they bottle this. It starts out bad, turns weird, then goes bad fast for a disgusting aftertaste. Oh, my. You have to take a second sip or two just to believe your first impression. Oy! My wife whole-heartedly agrees as well.

  5. Tried this root beer today. Found a 4 pack at the store. Not very good. Fast does have a cough syrup type of flavor to it. I was very disappointed. Tried Virgil’s Root Beer from this same store. Virgil’s was only slightly better. You may want to fast this beer for your own opinion but I think you will be wasting your money as the 4 pack cost me $7.99

  6. I tried this today and quite liked it. However, it doesn’t really seem like root beer. Has a very herbal taste along with strong molasses flavor and feel. Felt like it had a decent bite.

    To me a cough syrup smell is enough to make me gag, and I didn’t really taste or smell it in this one.

  7. If you look at the distribution it seems a little love/hate. I don’t get cough syrup from it at all. It’s actually one of my favorite root beers and agree with some others that to me it tastes both natural and complex with the several flavors sweeping through and leaving a nice finish and aftertaste. my only regret is that it’s not particularly easy to find (sad face). Count me down for LOVE!

  8. I just found this in the Beer aisle of my local supermarket….wondered why since it isn’t alcoholic and decided to give it a shot. I am old enough to remember getting soda drinks at soda fountains at the drug store. Before opening the bottle I took at look at the ingredients and was thrilled to see it was made with cane sugar instead of corn syrup. I knew from that alone that this was an older style of ‘Real’ soda. Further perusal of the list told me that this was a more old fashioned root beer that one got in the old days, truly before my time for sure.

    Anyways, my first taste got a ‘Wow, that’s intense!’ comment from me but on further sips it seemed to mellow out and I really enjoyed it. I bought some for the family so we will see how they like it.

    Some of favorite root beers have been Henry Weinhard’s, Dad’s in the old days, and A&W when served in a frost glass and not in a bottle or can.

    I also prefer Dr Pepper when it has cane sugar (Old Doc’s Soda Shop). If you hate it I can understand that

Leave a Reply

