Myers Avenue Red Root Beer

Myers Avenue Red Root Beer

Bottle and Label: A very well designed and classy label make this look like a sophisticated brew even when it is just sitting on the shelf. The bottle is a simple dark brown color.

Ingredients: Carbonated Water, High Fructose Corn Sweetener, Caramel Color, natural and artificial flavor (Cinnamon), Phosphoric Acid, Sodium Benzoate and Potassium Sorbate as preservatives, Molasses

Smell: From the bottle this brew has a mild smell that lacks the traditional licorice and wintergreen and instead smells a bit medicinal. It maintains the medicinal smell after being poured.

Carbonation: A very light level of carbonation makes this brew very smooth, but unfortunately also leaves it feeling flat and with very little of the enjoyably bubbly mouth feel that makes drinking a carbonated beverage different from other beverages

Color: Much lighter brown than most brews. It is noticeably transparent when compared to the almost black color of most other root beers

Head: By far this brew has the largest head I have ever seen on a root beer. I use a tall frosted mug when I test and I don’t usually have to stop pouring a brew because the head is too large to fit in the mug. With Myers Avenue Red the head was so large that if I hadn’t stopped pouring it would have spilled out all over my desk. The head is also extremely long lasting and the foamiest of any root beer I have seen to date

Flavor:  This root beer has one of the oddest flavors of any I have ever tasted. Just like with the smell, the traditional root beer flavors are almost nonexistent. The dominant flavors are cinnamon and molasses. It almost reminds me of a liquid form of a molasses cookie. The molasses leaves an odd aftertaste that is both medicinal and a bit bitter

Conclusion: Myers Avenue Red Root Beer is a very unique brew. I think people who try this brew will either love it or hate it with very few falling in between. I undoubtedly fall on the “hate it” side. As I have said in other reviews, I love the traditional root beer flavor. That said, I appreciate a brew that is able to tweak that traditional formula a bit to add their own twist. Unfortunately, this brew twists the formula too much and the result is something that says “root beer” on the bottle but that tastes nothing like root beer. Myers Avenue earns the rare and dubious distinction of being awarded the lowest grade on our rating scale but if you like molasses and cinnamon you might want to give this brew a go

My RBR’s Grade- F

Leave a Reply

