Barq’s Root Beer

Bottle and Label: Clear bottle and blue label make it easy to distinguish on a shelf crowded with brown bottles and labels.

Ingredients: Carbonated water,  high fructose corn syrup and/or sucrose, caramel color, sodium benzoate, citric acid, caffeine, artificial and natural flavors, acacia.

Smell: Smell is weak and it is difficult to distinguish any noticeable characteristics. There seems to be a bit of wintergreen smell, but it is very weak.

Carbonation: Very little carbonation leaves this brew tasting flat.

Color: Pleasing, dark brown color that is slightly transparent.

Head: Very tall head that also dissipates very quickly

Flavor: Barq’s root beer has a very mainstream flavor in that it is hard to find much in it to really savor. Much like the carbonation, the flavor is flat and leaves a slightly metallic aftertaste. There is not much else to say. Barq’s simply misses the mark in the flavor department.

Conclusion: Barq’s is one of those brews I drank as a kid when my parents would occasionally buy cases of it to drink on hot summer days on the farm. As a kid on a hot day, Barq’s was just fine. Well, times have changed. Barq’s is a mainstream root beer, but it falls short of my standard mainstream root beer, A&W. A&W, despite being largely artificial, still tastes pretty good. Barq’s is simply bland and has no redeeming qualities. This is one brew where I can, without hesitation, say avoid this beverage.

RBR’s Grade- F

7 thoughts on “Barq’s Root Beer

  1. I must say that I am ashamed that you have given this great American Product such a low rating. Drinking Barq’s from a can, vs. mug/bottle, will give you such a better flavor. I would rather lick a frog then drink A/W!!!

  2. I’m pretty shocked that you gave this an F. Barqs is at the top of my list for mainstream root beer, with A&W a solid second and Mug…well, I’m eager to hear what you have to say about Mug.

  3. Barq’s is my favourite flavour of pop in general never mind just rootbeers (A&W an easy second), the only pity is, its so hard to find. I usually have to shop around to find it.

    Barq’s is nice for two reasons, first Caffeine. Most rootbeer doesn’t have it, and Caffeine is my drug of choice. I wants my hit.

    Second it manages to avoid the liquid cotton candy effect that the softer rootbeers have (Barq’s has bite!) Its got the sharp taste of a cola, without leaving you with that sour feeling in your stomach that a Cola will.

    You claim it has a mainstream flavour, I find its the only rootbeer that doesn’t taste like every other rootbeer. I can only conclude you had a cold the day you tried this to imagine it had little smell or taste.

    I am forced to give your review a grade of F.

  4. I have to agree with the other commenters here. The rating of an F for Barq’s is absurd. Barq’s is a balanced brew with just the right level of carbonation. Its got a clean and flavorful taste that won’t overpower whatever meal you happen to be having with it. While you say that Barq’s was “fine” for a kid on hot day on the farm, you go on to say that times have changed. So…. Because times have changed means its not fine anymore? What’s changed, exactly? Your review and the grade make no sense.

Leave a Reply

