Round Barn Root Beer

P1020124-1small

Round Barn Root Beer

Bottle and Label: Brown bottle with a nicely designed label featuring a popular Route 66 landmark in Oklahoma.

Ingredients: Carbonated water,  high fructose corn syrup, caramel color, citric acid, natural and artificial flavor, and sodium benzoate as a preservative.

Smell: As much as I tried, I could not distinguish any smell at all from the bottle. After pouring in my frosted mug, I still could not detect any smell other than something that was a bit like dirt.

Carbonation: Medium level of carbonation with a nice bite.

Color: One of the lightest brews that I have seen. It is transparent even when it is not held up to the light. Still, it is a pleasing dark amber color.

Head: Short head, not too foamy, but it lasts for a good while.

Flavor: I think this is the first brew that I have truly not wanted to taste again after the first sip. The brew has an odd aftertaste that reminds me of dirt. The aftertaste lingers long after the beverage is swallowed. I taste very little in terms of the traditional flavors that make a root beer. If those flavors are present, they are overpowered by the taste of dirt.

Conclusion: I have posted in the past how fond I am of Pop’s. It is a great store with a good restaurant and an awesome selection of pops from around the world. Unfortunately, whoever thought up the recipe for their signature root beer needs to be taken out back to the woodshed until they repent of this travesty. Round Barn Root Beer earns the dubious distinction of being the very first root beer I have reviewed to have no redeeming qualities. You read that right, I see nothing good about this brew. Avoid this root beer at all costs. If you come across it, buy some A&W Root Beer instead, at least then you will have something to drink that resembles actual root beer.

RBR’s Grade- F

This entry was posted in F, Root Beer Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Round Barn Root Beer

  1. noactive says:

    Round Barn Root Beer .Thanks for nice post.I added to my twitter.

  2. Pingback: Americana Root Beer « Root Beer Reviews for the Rest of Us

Leave a Reply

